India goes to polls – Phase I
Apr 16, 2009 01:30 PM

Between 7 am and 5 pm today the Phase – I of the general election will take place amidst tight security. The 124 parliamentary constituencies are going for polls which include 17 states and Union Territories.

People in Andhra Pradesh (for 22 LS seats) and Orissa will vote twice, one to elect a MP and the other for a MLA, since both the Lok Sabha and Assembly polls are held simultaneously.

Lok Sabha

Other states that go to polls today are Assam (3), Bihar (13), Kerala (20), Maharashtra (13), Orissa (10), Uttar Pradesh (16), Chhattisgarh (11), Jharkhan (6), Arunachal Pradesh (2), Meghalaya (2) and Jammu & Kashmir, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, A&N Island and Lakshadweep one each.
News Link
S S Chandran replaced
More News
News Arrow First Phase polls starts with a bang
News Arrow India goes to polls – Phase I
News Arrow S S Chandran replaced
News Arrow Man commits suicide, records on camera
News Arrow Dalmatian rescued, put up for adoption
News Arrow Vishu celebrated in Chennai
News Arrow Floral tributes to a great leader
News Arrow Stalin’s respects to Dr B R Ambedkar
News Arrow Tearful homage to a noble eye specialist
News Arrow S Ve Shekher’s style of paying tribute
News Arrow Indian workers called slumdogs
News Arrow Kasab to meet his mother © 2009 ; Privacy Policy ; Terms of Service