Kar’Nataka’ ends. Yeddy wins trust vote
  Oct 11, 2010 06.10 PM

The political drama has finally ended in Karnataka as the BJP government in Karnataka won the trust vote in the House after the Speaker disqualified 16 rebel MLAs. The Karnataka government faced its toughest challenge in the two-and-a half year BJP rule.

Karnataka Speaker K. G. Bopaiah disqualified 11 BJP and 5 independent rebel MLAs from the Karnataka Assembly under the Anti Defection Act, in response to Yeddyurappa's petition. The MLAs will move court to appeal for a stay in the Karnataka High Court and participate in the floor test.

The Assembly secretary has issued an order banning their entry into the Assembly. The Speaker has also instructed the police to not allow the dismissed MLAs inside. The notice has been pasted on all three entry points of the Assembly.

The total strength of the house has come down to 208 from 224 following the disqualifications. Now the decks have been cleared for the Yeddyurappa government to survive the trust vote on the floor of the House that's scheduled to begin at 10 am.

Now the BJP now has 105 MLAs; 5 independent and 11 BJP rebels have been disqualified by the Speaker, Congress 73 MLAs and the Janata Dal Secular 28.

The government needs 105 MLAs to have a simple majority even as strength of the house falling down from 224 to 208. The BJP, with its 105 MLAs and the Speaker's vote, meets the halfway mark.

News Link
Road roko in Pondicherry by VCK
  More News
» Tamil Nadu’s Baywatch
» Three month old baby sleeps to death
» AIADMK’s grand plans
» Miraculous escape for train passengers
» Cell phone turns remote control
» South African national lost and found in Chennai
» Kar’Nataka’ ends. Yeddy wins trust vote
» Road roko in Pondicherry by VCK
» No more Shilpa & Preity in IPL
» DMK in jitters after Sonia’s speech
» MLAs to get e-mail ID
» Alagiri gives away bicycles
Behindindia.com © 2010 ; Privacy Policy ; Terms of Service